Home

A lot of people find humor in something that is wrong in every facet of its existence. Lil B is this concept incarnate. He makes a mockery of mainstream music with everything he does. His music, quite frankly, borders on the worst you can find. And the best part is that he does it all on purpose.

If I were just a couple of years younger, I would think Lil B was completely serious. Hell, he reminds me of Soulja Boy even now. This guy has built up a huge following on Twitter and Youtube (and apparently Myspace as well) by being an ass, and ever since I first heard his music, he’s honestly been making me laugh. I mean LOOK AT THIS. I love the stupid names he gives all his songs, the ridiculous attention whoring in his youtube titles and descriptions, and his “Task Force” of fans who comment “THANK YOU BASED GOD” and such on all of his videos, spreading the good news. Even the fact that he includes a “Lil” in his name is funny to me.

I think the beauty is in the fact that clearly such intense thought goes into what he does in each of his videos (they’re all actually quite unique), that you start to believe in the legend — maybe Lil B isn’t joking after all. Hopefully I haven’t been tricked. He’s got a lot of adroit parodies of popular music, such as I Love You and California Boy (note the cognitive dissonance in some of the comments about the fact that they enjoy this). He’s got some lyrical masterpieces in his “cooking” videos like Ellen Degeneres and Justin Bieber. For anybody looking for an explanation of “cooking,” the best I can do is “this is how Lil B makes sure haters keep hating.”

What’s really interesting to me are his relative diamonds in the rough, like Death of Rap. I mean, the video is literally 3 minutes of him dressed like a terrorist, looking left and right repeatedly while imitating other rappers’ “serious” tracks. Not to mention the intentionally out-of-sync lip syncing that runs rampant in all of his videos. In the follow-up, which he released no less than three days after DOR, he abuses the listenability of Imogen Heap’s Just For Now in a direct sample to ramble on about I have no idea what. But I enjoy it.

In my last post, I talked a little bit about freestyle hip-hop. Don’t worry, Lil does that too. His freestyles make me laugh the most, because of how technically flawed they are. He basically just takes a concept and drones on for five minutes, and whenever he runs out of something to say, he just repeats what he said before. Ironically, it ends up coming across as deep. I think I even heard an avant-garde case of the hiccups at 4 minutes in on “I Am A Bird Now.”

I don’t listen to Lil B’s albums. I don’t follow him on twitter. Really, I was introduced via the hate he generates, and I somehow ended up a fan of his antics.

The guy is honestly hilarious, and is a marketing genius. It’s incredible how many people, both haters and followers alike, take him seriously. In fact, if any of them read this post, they’ll probably claim that there’s no joke behind Lil B at all. Nonetheless, if he continues to do well, I hope it inspires other mainstream artists to take a serious look at what they do, and how effortlessly this kid from NorCal mocks them.

One thought on “Consider Lil B

Leave a Reply

