Home

Pitbull

I haven’t had anything that was worth writing a full post about the past few weeks, but I have had several short thoughts that I might as well relay.

For a guy that sings out of the side of his mouth and wears sunglasses indoors, Pitbull is really making a name for himself these days. His song “Give Me Everything” has been playing at UF’s stadium during football games, and that wonky electronic effect that gets used at around the 45 second mark is a new trick for pop music. The closest thing I can think of is Pokerface by Lady Gaga. I hold the belief that pop will grow more electronic over time, and if Pitbull and LMFAO keep it up, I’m on track to be right. As for whether or not I like Pitbull’s music – it could be worse.

Fergie and Pitbull have both been in Dr. Pepper commercials recently, and this has reminded me that Fergie can’t make it through a single song without spelling or saying her name. I wish the Black Eyed Peas were not so successful, so that she never would have made it this far. Artists like Lady Gaga set the trends in pop these days, and Fergie is years behind. That people still listen to her stuff is pretty telling of how little they care about music in general.

I think hipsters need to consider that one man’s “folk” is another man’s “country”.

Lighters” is such a dumb song. However, it has provided me with a good way to explain why Eminem is bad. For over 10 years now, as life has gotten better for him, he has continued to fall back on rapping about how hard life is. His flow is gimmicky: rattling off a long run-on sentence and hacking verses together by repeating words at the beginning and end doesn’t seem like poetry to me. I don’t feel like he has a message for us – or that he even cares – anymore. He’s been doing the same thing the same way for too long. Secondarily, from all I’ve seen of him, Bruno Mars is the product of the music industry giving us a watered down Chris Brown, who we hope will not punch Rihanna in the face. This guy brings nothing to the musical table that wasn’t already there. Songs like this getting airtime just pisses me off.

Lastly, Panic! at the Disco has apparently released a new album, even though I thought that they were long gone and had taken their ridiculous contributions to pop-punk with them (it was honestly not as bad in the 90’s). If I can help myself, I’m going to pretend they don’t exist again. One can only take so many paragraph-long song titles and choppy chorus lines. How I wish music like this had remained in the 00’s.

Leave a Reply

